Baby You’re a Firework – But You Look a Little Bit Green

Fireworks-nail-art
This is my witchy, explosive New Year’s mani. I’m not too fond of glitter bomb manis, but, I mean – fireworks. Had to be glitter ; )

The awesome green base is called Green-Wich Village – which is cool since I went to Greenwich just a few days ago, with friends (and to check whether they cleaned up after the aliens landing and the Thor-apocalypse – they did a really good job).

Also, I’ve been on an Elphaba diet for the last few weeks, and can’t stop listening to her songs from Wicked – witchy witch it is!
Opi-green-wich-village
I hope you all had wonderful holidays and New Year’s!

It’s a funny night, New Year’s Eve, when everybody expects us to turn it on just like that – the best night of the year! And, magically, turn the old, worn year into a new year – one that still smells like a freshly printed book.
New-year's-Eve-manicure

I have for you a few quotes, by a very wise man, quotes not only for the first 2 weeks of January but the entirety of the uber tabula rasa-esque, next 365 days.

I’m sending you hugs, because, in my world, words are the best, most beautiful and inspiring thing you can gift a person – add a splash of colour and it’s perfection ; )

These words feel warm to me, smell like lavender and always make me smile – so I’m sharing with you !
New-year's-Eve-nail-art

“Some people live more in 20 years than others do in 80. It’s not the time that matters, it’s the person.”
– The Tenth Doctor
New-years-Eve-nails
“A straight line may be the shortest distance between two points, but it is by no means the most interesting.”
– The Third Doctor

“There’s no point in being grown up if you can’t act a little childish sometimes.”
– The Fourth Doctor
Fireworks-manicure

“If it’s time to go, remember what you’re leaving. Remember the best. My friends have always been the best of me.”
– The Eleventh Doctor

Nail-stamping
“When you’re a kid, they tell you it’s all… Grow up, get a job, get married, get a house, have a kid, and that’s it. But the truth is, the world is so much stranger than that. It’s so much darker. And so much madder. And so much better.”
– Elton

Konad-nail-art

“You don’t just give up. You don’t just let things happen. You make a stand! You say no! You have the guts to do what’s right, even when everyone else just runs away.”
– Rose

Cheeky-stamping-plates

And last, but not least, what I’ve already shared with you, but I’ll repeat, and hopefully soon, be absolutely convinced:

“The way I see it, every life is a pile of good things and… bad things. The good things don’t always soften the bad things, but vice versa, the bad things don’t necessarily spoil the good things or make them unimportant.”
– The Eleventh Doctor

Do you have a favourite quote or words that are guaranteed to make your day a little brighter?

Do you know what? I’m not a quote-hoarder, I don’t live by mottos or proverbs, but whenever I see those quotes above, life seems that much lighter and lovelier.

Love,
Cat

Doctor-who-quotes

You can admire my tech genius by liking my technologically advanced technology of my FB page: https://www.facebook.com/ThisKittenHasKlaws

23 thoughts on “Baby You’re a Firework – But You Look a Little Bit Green

  1. Pingback: I’m Kiwi About You | Cat's Claws and her Love of Words, Colour and Stamping.

  2. As always beautiful nails Cat! Thanks for sharing the great quotes, it’s nice to hear some of the things the Doctor said again, great reminders for me. I loved this from The Time of the Doctor Christmas special:

    “Now it’s time for one last bow

    like all your other selves

    eleventh’s hour is over now

    the clock is striking twelves”

    It made me cry (of course) and it just fit, you know? I still haven’t finished my post about the special, I just can’t seem to do it… oh well! You take care!

    • THANK YOU – now the song’s stuck in my head! : P
      I’m glad you like the mani!

      Haha, do you know what, I’m wearing a skittle mani right now and I’m actually WEARING Glints of Glinda ; D

      But that’s a great idea, I though I much prefer the character of Elphaba : ) What would you do for a Glinda mani?

      • Haha, ohh, what are the odds :D
        Mhmm, I associate lots of glitter and soft pastel (nude or rose) shades with Glinda. Perhaps I’d work with such colours and shimmer/glitter :)
        I’m not much of a help when it comes to nail designs since I rarely do them myself…

  3. I love this nail look and I LOVE Wicked. I too saw it on broadway, with Nicole Parker as Elphie.
    I see that you’re a Whovian. My best friend is trying to get me into it, but I’m refusing!

I'm Cat - don't be a stranger!

